Have you heard about Raglans??

Taken from Sea Sessions Website, I do not own this photo!

Liam, Ste, Rhos, Conn

One of my favourite film’s of all time is Almost Famous (The others being Big Fish & Return to Oz).

I loved William, who was taken on the journey of a lifetime with his idols Still Water. After watching the film I knew I wanted to be either a journalist or a “band aid”

Thankfully I am studying journalism in D.I.T and I also “dig” music so perhaps I can combine these two dreams…..

Finn had been making his Havagawk videos for a while, in fact I was inundated with lovely Irish Artists to listen to, but the one’s that really caught my ear were by a band called Raglans.

Finn made two videos for RaglansWhere the rain don’t fall” and “Not Now”  …

He also made two amazing music videos for their singles The Man From Glasgow , which is obscenely catchy…it will stay in your head for days…

As well as all of that he made another awesome video for the hugely popular “Diggin’ Holes” which Finn filmed entirely in Cavan, and parts of it were filmed on Darren’s grandfather’s farm- so the video is special to us Cavan folk.

Just click the links and watch the videos and there’ll be no need for me to explain how good these lads are…. but I will anyway.

Café Sessions

Time for a snippet of very important background information.

God bless Joe Keenan and Niall Walsh for they are the Messiahs of Music in Cavan. They run a bi-weekly Music/Arts night in Cavan town. It’s called Café Sessions and is held in a small café called Chapter One. They have brought so many diverse, talented and lovely artists to Cavan, They have opened my eyes and ears to the wide range talent we have and I can’t thank them enough.

Raglans played Cafe Sessions on December 23rd 2011, they were the cherry on top of a delicious  musical year.  No band has received the reaction that Raglans did. People were out of their seats clapping, harmonizing, screaming. Everyone was grinning from ear to ear and hugging each other!

The harmonies, the mandolin, the voice, you couldn’t  help but fall under their spell.

It was the best Café Sessions ever (I mó thuarim)

I must have seen them about 8 more times since then, and they keep getting better.  I can’t get enough of their music, it is SO GOOD!!

The more I see them the more I get to know them, Thankfully, they are the  soundest bunch of lads you could meet. Myself Darren and Liam hung out with them at the Sea Sessions festival in Bundoran and we learned first hand what lovely guys they are.

Sea Sessions

Last week was the best week of the Summer because I got to see Raglans twice. On Thursday they made  a triumphant return to Cavan, I can’t even describe how magical that gig was. To have them play to such an intimate crowd, and to know that they really appreciated us all being there was something else.

On Saturday I got to see them play Knockanstockan festival in Wicklow, where they blew the stage  to pieces…..literally, the crowd stormed the barrier and a few people jumped on stage, they were on fire brilliant.

I think this is taken from one of the lad's phones! Not my photo

Stage Storm

Oh and because we are now “friends of the band” we were afforded certain privileges,  namely artist wristbands, which allowed us to sleep in the better campsite….and also allowed us to look awesome all weekend.

Here we are being friends….

Awesome in Orange

No doubt I will write more about how great these guys are but for now I’m avidly looking forward to their next intimate gig. Which is in  a secret location in Dublin on 28th of August…..

Which also happens to be mine and Darren’s four year anniversary…. they may just  serenade us….

(^hint^)

For now

Liam, Conn, Ste, Rhos

You Rock my world.

Jenny

x

Here’s a link to their debut gig in Cavan, feel the electricity

http://vimeo.com/34270033#

Bro’s 4 LYF

Leave a Reply

